Skip to content ↓


Members of the Local Governing Body are drawn from parents, school staff, and the community. They oversee the management and leadership of the school. 

Governor Vacancies

We are looking to fill our co-opted governor vacancy, ideally with someone from the wider town community who brings background, approach and experience to complement those of our existing governors.  If you're interested in becoming a governor, please read the information below about the role (and ineligibility), and arrange to speak with Helen Dawes [Chair of Governors] by emailing

If you have any queries about the governor appointment process, please contact Cathryn Butler [Clerk to Governors] by emailing

Governors are appointed for a four-year term of office.  In appropriate circumstances, they may serve a subsequent term.

The School Governors

Helen Dawes

      Co-opted Governor and Chair of Governors

Angela Cook

      Co-opted Governor

Helen Della Nave

      Parent Governor

Janet Fletcher

      Co-opted Governor

Lisa Gardner

      Co-opted Governor and Vice-Chair of Governors

Tim Howes

      Co-opted Governor

Kimberley Jones

      Co-opted Governor

Alastair McKenzie-Kerr

      Parent Governor

Richard Riordan


Philip Rowe

      Co-opted Governor

James Shepherd

      Co-opted Governor

Sarah-Jayne Speed

      Staff Governor

Denise Tween

      Co-opted Governor


      one co-opted governor vacancy

Cathryn Butler

      Clerk to Governors

As well as the Local Governing Body (LGB), there are other governor committees: Finance Committee, Admissions Committee and Pay Committee.

The Local Governing Body and Finance Committee meet six times a year each; the Admissions Committee meets three times a year; and the Pay Committee once.

For more information about our governors, and the work they do, please visit the Governing Body Information page in the sub menu to your right. 

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors, please write to The Chair of Governors, c/o Portishead Primary School or email the Clerk on